WACIDOM Concert 22nd October- Zhao Yuxhuan (Piano)

WACIDOM Concert 22nd October- Zhao Yuxhuan (Piano)

There has been a change in the programme this week as Emma Halnan and Hayley Parkes are unfortunately not able to play. We are delighter that Zhao Yuxhuan (Piano) has been able to come to Holy Trinity in their place.


Scriabin                       Sonata No.5

Chopin                        Sonata No. 3   Allegro maestoso

Scherzo: Molto vivace


Finale: Presto non tanto



Zhao Yuxuan was born in China in 2002. He is currently studying for his Undergraduate Degree at the Royal Northern College of Music, under the tutelage of Prof. Graham Scott. He gained a full tuition scholarship and living grants from ABRSM. From Junior School, Zhao Yuxuan studied in The Middle School of Shenyang Conservatory of Music. He won first place, in the “Top Talent Program”. He’s held many recitals and has won major prizes, including the 2018 “Korean Youngchang International Piano Competition” Chinese area 1st prize, Korean Final 2rd prize. In 2018 the “Huanglong” International Music Festival 1st prize in the Chinese work division. In 2019 the “BIMFA International Piano Competition” 2rd place. In 2021, “Uk Appelbe Piano Prize” 1st place. He is 2022 RNCM concerto competition winner. Most recently in August, 2022 “Birmingham International Competition” he was placed 3rd.

Programme Notes


Scriabin Sonata No. 5


The Piano Sonata No. 5, Op. 53, is a work written by Alexander Scriabin in 1907. This was his first sonata to be written in one movement, a format he retained from then on. It was written as an offshoot of the orchestral ‘Poem of Ecstasy’ in 1907; its composition took only three to four days. His wife Tatyana wrote in a letter “I cannot believe my ears. It is extraordinary! The Sonata pours out of him like a fountain! Everything you have heard so far is as nothing!”

Chopin Sonata No.3

Until they parted ways in 1847, Chopin and writer George Sand spent most of their summers at Nohant, her country estate. He completed his 3rd Piano Sonata, one of the greatest of the Nohant works, during the summer and early autumn of 1844—this was one of the happiest periods of his life. Chopin dedicated the Sonata to his pupil and friend Countess Emilie de Perthuis, wife of aide-de-camp Louis-Philippe. It is considered to be one of Chopin’s most difficult compositions, both technically and emotionally.

After a fantastic performance Zhao performed an encore  of Rachmaninoff Moment  musicaux op. 16 No.4